Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee advises the Governing Body on all medical and scientific matters relating to the Institute and its activities.  Its most important role is the selection of the annual Lister Institute Prize Fellows – see What are they? for details.  There are currently eleven members of the Scientific Advisory Committee providing expertise across a broad range of scientific and medical disciplines.  Members generally serve for six years and there is planned regular rotation, where their expertise is appropriate we seek to have at least one or two members who are former Fellows of the Institute.  The Chair of the Committee is Professor Patrick Maxwell, the Regius Professor of Physic at the University of Cambridge; having served as a member of the committee he took over from Professor Robin Irvine in September 2012.


Professor Patrick Maxwell

The current (January 2017) Members of the Scientific Advisory Committee are:-

Professor Patrick Maxwell, FMedSci, Chair, Regius Professor of Physic, University of Cambridge
Dr Ian Adams, BSC, PhD, Western General Hospital
Professor Jon Cohen, MSc, MB, FRCP, FRCPath, FRCPE, FMedSci, formerly Brighton and Sussex Medical School
Professor Cyrus Cooper, OBE, MA, DM, FRCP, FFPH, FMedSci, University of Southampton
Professor William Deakin, FMedSci, University of Manchester
Professor Annette Dolphin, PhD, FMedSci, University College London
Professor Margaret C Frame, PhD FRSE FMedSci, Western General Hospital
Professor Corinne Houart, PhD, King’s College London
Professor John Iredale, BM(Hons), FMedSci, FRCP, FRSE, University of Bristol
Professor Nick Lemoine, MD, PhD, FRCPath, FMedSci, Queen Mary, University of London
Professor Christoph M Tang, MBChB, PhD, FMedSci, University of Oxford
Professor Jonathan Waltho, BSc, PhD, University of Manchester
Professor Colin Watts, FRS, FRSE, FMedSci, University of Dundee