Sir Alec Jeffreys is made a Companion of Honour

by | Jul 5, 2017

Professor Sir Alec Jeffreys has been made a Companion of Honour in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours 2017.

The Order of the Companions of Honour was founded by George V in 1917 to recognise services of national importance and is a special award granted to those who have made a major contribution to the arts, science, medicine, or government lasting over a long period of time. The members, of which there are 65 at any one time, currently include actress Dame Maggie Smith, Lord Coe, Stephen Hawking, John Major and Desmond Tutu.